Home » Fitness News & Advice » Discovering and Tuning Into the 7 Yoga Chakras

Discovering and Tuning Into the 7 Yoga Chakras

2. Svadhisthana: The Sacral Chakra

Next is Svadhisthana, the sacral chakra, which encompasses the lower abdomen or the area between the belly button and pubic bone. Svadhisthana rules our sensuality, sexuality, and reproductive system, and it’s a largely emotive chakra. Represented by an orange lotus, a blocked sacral chakra can lead to creative, emotional, and relationship blockages.

Svadhisthana is said to govern our emotional identity, personal gratification, and procreation. This explains why yogis believe a blocked sacral chakra can result in auto immune system, sex organ, upper intestines, gall bladder, liver, kidney, spleen, or pancreas issues (i.e., lower libido, menstrual problems, sciatica, urinary tract issues, hormonal imbalances, and pelvic pain). Yoga poses to open Svadhisthana mainly focus on hip openers like hip opening poses like bound eagle and forward folds (seated and standing).

yoga 2

Next »

More on ActiveBeat